Hirschmann Scholarship in Armenia

Hirschmann Scholarship in Armenia

KASA Fondation

Sponsorship area

Development aid / Training and further education

Sponsorship amount

CHF 42,000 / year

Sponsorship term

since 2021


KASA Fondation Humanitaire Suisse



Armenia a country undergoing transition

Up until the year 1991, Armenia was a constituent part of the Soviet Union. The country declared its independence on 21st September 1991.The ongoing process of transitioning to democracy has continued since then. In the spring of 2018, the result of the Velvet Revolution was the political system being shaken up.

Armenia has three million inhabitants, which includes many dedicated young people. Armenia was hit by a strong earthquake in 1988. The consequences of this are still being felt in the country. The collapse of the Soviet Union caused an economic crisis. The transition to a market economy is being hampered by corruption, oligarchic structures, and a lack of an independent judiciary. Despite all this, Armenia has an excellent education system with numerous universities and colleges.

Next Generation

Armenian students want to make a positive contribution to building the country's future - for democratic institutions based on constitutional law, for an open market economy, against corruption and against oligarchic monopolies.

With the establishment of a scholarship, the Hirschmann Foundation is hoping to make a contribution to improving the opportunities for these young people.

The average monthly income in Armenia is CHF 300, and university tuition fees range from CHF 1,200 to 1,500 per annum. The scholarship is awarded in cooperation with the KASA Swiss Humanitarian Foundation in Yerevan. It is mainly used to cover the students' university enrolment fees.


The KASA Foundation operates a network with the country's higher education institutions. The management of the KASA Foundation Yerevan guarantees high quality with the awarding of scholarships.

Scholarship applications can be submitted directly to the KASA Foundation.

Scholarships are only awarded based on recommendations from two professors.